The scholarship applications for 2024-2025 academic year will be accepted started on December 1st, 2023.

Applications are due Sunday, February 18, 2024 (11:59pm).

The SPE GCS Scholarship is for students pursuing a career in the energy industry. The scholarship is a renewable yearly scholarship, up to 4 years ($2,000/semester, $4,000/academic year). After the first year, students must meet certain requirements to remain eligible for subsequent scholarships (GPA, full time student, and major - details upon request). 

This application consists of 5 Sections, all sections must be complete before the deadline for the application to be considered.
- Confirm Eligibility & Basic Information
- Basic Information
- Detailed Questions
    - Academic Achievement
    - Extracurricular & Leadership Activities
    - Interest in Energy Industry
- Essay
- Letters of Recommendation


To complete the application, you will need to collect several documents, listed below, and submit with the Online Application. All documents should be in MS Office, .jpeg, or pdf form and size must be <10 MB.

- Letters of recommendation (min. 2, max of 3), must be submitted directly through the Kaleidoscope portal.

- Copy of HS Transcript including Fall semester of senior year

- SAT or ACT Score Report


Basic eligibility criteria:

  To apply for the Gulf Coast Section Annual Scholarship you must:

  • Be a graduating high school senior,
  • Be planning to study science or engineering as a freshman in college next year,
  • Have a permanent address in one of the 29 counties in the Gulf Coast Section
  • Be a US Citizen or Permanent Resident If you do not attend a high school in one of the 29 counties mentioned above or are not a US citizen or Permanent Resident, you are not eligible for this SPE section scholarship. Additional scholarships may be available through SPE international. For more details, visit:

The 29 counties included in the SPE Gulf Coast Section are Austin, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Chambers, Colorado, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Grimes, Hardin, Harris, Jasper, Jefferson, Lee, Liberty, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity, Tyler, Walker, Waller, Washington, and Wharton.