Manisha Bhardwaj


Program Vice Chair
Board Committee Chairs


Manisha Bhardwaj is a data science technical advisor at Halliburton. With more than 10 years of experience in data science and machine learning, she is recognized as a leader and advisor in her field. A trained mathematician, she provides technical expertise related to data science and analytics, develops research strategies to use the latest analytics innovations to turn data into a competitive advantage and makes recommendations for data-driven business decisions. Prior to joining Halliburton, Bhardwaj held technical and leadership roles at Monsanto (now Bayer Crop Sciences). She is a coauthor of several technical publications and patent applications and is an active peer reviewer for many leading journals by IEEE, Springer, and SPE. She has been invited to speak at various events and has served as a judge at many technical and machine learning competitions.

An active member of SPE, Bhardwaj has held multiple volunteer roles at the SPE Gulf Coast Section (SPE-GCS) Data Analytics Study Group promoting data analytics in the energy industry. She is also the past chair for the group, the organizing committee member for the 2019–2021 SPE-GCS Data Science Convention, and a program member of the section’s Diversity and Inclusion committee. She has been selected to serve on the SPE-GCS board of directors for the 2021–2022 term. For her outstanding contributions to SPE, Bhardwaj was awarded the SPE Gulf Coast North America Regional Service Award in 2020.

Bhardwaj holds a bachelor’s degree in physical sciences from the University of Delhi and master’s and PhD degrees in applied mathematics from the University of Houston (UH). She is the recipient of several prestigious scholarships, including the UH First Friends of NSM Fellowship, awarded to the best and brightest PhD students; the UH NSMAA Eckhard Pfeiffer-Alumni Scholarship; the Jack and D’Ann Burke International Scholarship; the Sanwa Bank Scholarship by Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi; and the Mukarji Memorial and Ramesh Goel Memorial Prize for outstanding academic performance.