SPE International Honors and Awards

SPE honors and awards recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the industry, the engineering profession, or to SPE. We’re pleased to announce that Gulf Coast Section members will be well represented in the 2009 SPE International Honors and Awards winners. The honors and awards will be presented at the Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition in New Orleans, Louisiana in October. Please congratulate these Gulf Coast Section members, and let them know how proud we are of their accomplishments:

John Franklin Carll Award

Akhil Datta-Gupta, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas USA

Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal (2010)

Christine A. Ehlig-Economides, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas USA

Distinguished Member

Hisham M. AlQassab, Schlumberger, Pearland, Texas USA
J. Roger Hite, Business Fundamentals Group, Houston, Texas USA
Mridul Kumar, Chevron ETC, Houston, Texas USA
Mohamed Y. Soliman, Halliburton Energy Services Group, Houston, Texas USA

Completions Optimization and Technology Award

Joseph A. Ayoub, Schlumberger, Sugarland, Texas USA

Drilling Engineering Award (2010)

Allen Sinor, Hughes Christensen, The Woodlands, Texas USA

Phillip D. Pattillo, BP, Houston, Texas USA, was previously approved as the recipient of the 2009 Drilling Engineering Award.

Management and Information Award

Mehrzad Mahdavi, Dexa Systems Incorporated, Houston, Texas USA

Production and Operations Award

Hisham A. Nasr-El-Din, Texas A&M, College Station, Texas USA

Projects, Facilities and Construction Award

Norman D. McMullen, BP America, Cypress, Texas USA

Young Member Outstanding Service Award

Abhishek Anchilya, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas USA