SPE Honors and Awards

SPE honors and awards recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the industry, the engineering profession, or to SPE. We’re pleased to announce that  Gulf Coast Section members will be well represented in the honors and awards winners.  The honors and awards will be presented at the Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition in Houston at the Awards Banquet on Monday, September 27.  Please congratulate the following Gulf Coast Section members, and let them know how proud we are of their accomplishments:

Honorary Member

Donald W. Peaceman

Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal (2005)

Stephen A. Holditch, Texas A&M University

DeGolyer Distinguished Service Award

W. John Lee, Texas A&M University

Distinguished Member

Syed Ali, ChevronTexaco

Drilling Engineering Award (2005)

Robert F. Mitchell, Landmark Graphics Corporation

Facilities and Construction Award

Edward E. Horton, Deepwater Technology

Health Safety and Environment Award

George H. Holliday, Holliday Environmental Services

Management and Information Award

Amiel David, PETECH

Production and Operations Award

George E. King, BP

Young Member Outstanding Service Award 

Jennifer Bell, ChevronTexaco

Jay C Graham, Anadarko

Cedric K. Ferguson Medal

Mark E. Flaum, Rice U.

Cedric K. Ferguson Certificate

Robert Freedman, Schlumberger (Certificate)

Nicholas J. Heaton, Schlumberger (Certificate)

George J. Hirasaki, Rice U. (Certificate)