3 Articles Found

SPEGCS Nomination Request - Board of Director Positions

In November of each year, the Nominating Committee, led by the Immediate Past Chair, and with recommendations from the Succession Planning Committee, prepares a slate of one candidate each for the Gulf Coast Section Board of Director positions of Vice Chair, Secretary, Vice Treasurer, and three At-large Director slots.  If you have ideas of who should be nominated or considered for these positions, send your suggestions no later than November 15th to Allen Shook at  Self-nominating is accepted.   The Nominating Committee will present the slate to the Board at the December 18, 2008 Board meeting. If approved, the slate will be printed in the February 2009 SPE-GCS newsletter.  Unless members nominate additional nominees by February 15, 2009, all the nominees on the slate will stand as elected.  For more details, refer to the section By-laws posted at

2008–09 Young Professionals Board

The membership committee is proud to announce the selection of the following 16 individuals, who were selected from a group of very strong candidates. Young Professionals constitute 20% of the Gulf Coast Section, making the actions of the upcoming board more important than ever. Amber Abel, ExxonMobil Production Chris Belcher, Baker Hughes Christopher Buterbaugh, Chevron Ryan Ezell, Halliburton Bukola Fagbemi, BP Sean Fitzgerald, Shell Evan Graybill, Chevron Craig Lacy, ExxonMobil Production Brandon Lauderdale, GrantPrideco Valerie Martone, BHP Billiton Suzanne Murphy, Chevron Sue Park, Chevron Kristal Pena, Oxy Permian Ltd. Anupam Tagore, AMEC Slavko Tosic, Noble Energy Inc. Omar Ullah, El Paso Corp.

2008–09 SPE GCS Board Positions Selected

The SPE Gulf Coast Section board of directors approved the following slate of officers and directors as nominations for 2008–09 at the December board meeting. According to SPE GCS bylaws (see Governance under About SPE GCS on, this slate will stand as elected unless an alternative candidate is put forth by February 15. If a petition for an alternative candidate is signed by 100 active SPE GCS members, an election will be held at a meeting in May with at least 50 active SPE GCS members present. Other 2008–09 open board positions will be appointed by the incoming section chair. The slate was recommended by the Nominating Committee which received guidance from the Succession Planning Committee. Nominating Committee Roger Hite, Immediate Past Chair Jane Moring, Secretary Mark Peavy, Vice Treasurer Claude Thorp, Membership Succession Planning Committee Roger Hite, Immediate …