Preparing for PetroBowlSM 2016

Please join us for the PetroBowl 2016 Question Writing Session

PetroBowlSM MadnessPetroBowl Houston

Thirty-six teams from around the world have finally made it to the PetroBowlSM Championships to be held in Houston on 28 September 2015. Who will take the trophy home?
Welcome to PetroBowlSM Madness! Be a part of one of the most competitive events at ATCE, feel the excitement and join the PetroBowlSM buzz! It’s simple – find out more about the teams, predict the outcome and hit submit for a chance to win an iPad-Air 2! 
Submit your entries by scanning the QR code below or clicking the link: 
2015 PetroBowlSM Madness Form

PetroBowl Houston


PetroBowlSM Competition

 PetroBowlSM Competition matches SPE student chapter teams against one another in a fast-paced quiz competition covering technical and non-technical aspects of the oil and gas industry.
View the 2015 PetroBowl Championship Bracket.

PetroBowlSM Regional Qualifier Competitions

In 2015, 103 teams from 28 countries competed against each other in six regional qualifier competitions. The contests took place in Norman, Oklahoma, USA; Manama, Bahrain; Warri, Nigeria; London, UK; Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; and Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and allowed SPE student members from around the world to compete against other student members in their SPE super region for a chance to win a spot in the PetroBowlSM Championship.
The top two teams in each regional qualifier earned seeded placement and a sponsored trip to the championship. An additional 24 teams advanced to the championship and received full or partially sponsored trips.
Visit the PetroBowlSM Competition Facebook page for pictures and posts from the 2015 regional qualifiers.

PetroBowlSM Championship at ATCE

The 2015 PetroBowlSM Championship takes place on Monday, 28 September during the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition. SPE would like to welcome the following 36 teams to the championship.
Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun (1st Place)
Federal University of Technology (2nd Place)
Rivers State University of Science and Technology
University of Lagos
Igbinedion University
Nnamdi Azikiwe University
Asia Pacific
China University of Petroleum Beijing (1st Place)
China University of Petroleum Huadong (2nd Place)
Trisakti University
Bandung Institute of Technology
U Sedaya College International (UCSI)
Universiti Teknologi Malaysia
Delft University (1st Place)
Khazar University (2nd Place)
Heriot-Watt University
Politecnico Di Torino
Stavanger University
University of Aberdeen
Latin America and Caribbean
Universidad Nacional Autonoma De Mexico (1st Place)
Universidade Federal De Campina Grande (2nd Place)
Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
Universidad Industrial De Santander
Universidade Catolica De Santos
Universidade Estadual Do Norte Fluminense - Darcy Rib
Middle East
King Abdullah University For Science & Technology (1st Place)
Texas A&M Qatar (2nd Place)
King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals
North America
University of Calgary (1st Place)
Colorado School of Mines (2nd Place)
University of Oklahoma
Louisiana State University
University of Kansas
Pennsylvania State University
University of Texas at Austin
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
University of Tulsa

PetroBowlSM Champions

2002 — Texas Tech University 
2003 — Texas A&M University 
2004 — Montana Tech 
2005 — Texas A&M University 
2006 — Colorado School of Mines 
2007 — University of Oklahoma 
2008 — University of Oklahoma 
2009 — University of Texas at Austin 
2010 — University of Oklahoma 
2011 — University of Texas at Austin 
2012 — Colorado School of Mines 
2013 — Colorado School of Mines 
2014 — University of Tulsa

Tips for Preparing for the Competition

Here is a suggested list of study materials as possible sources of questions:


Additional Links